Updates?

Hi there visitor,

I spoke to someone at Notion Ink today, and it does seem plausible that they are planning to release a major update on the 7th of May 2011.  I don’t think it would be something as big as Honeybomb, but even an upgraded, bug-free and feature-rich Eden would be welcome.  By the way, I don’t use the Eden panels at all, except for going to a recent or open application quickly through the icons on the Home panel.  It is either the app drawer or ADW Launcher EX for me.

In other news, someone has sent me a modified kernel using the leaked source code of the Malata-built Android Linux kernel used in the Adam.  It has usb-serial support built in, along with an insertable driver for Option (and similar) 3G/EVDO USB modems.  I am supposed to test it, because I have been asking for this driver inclusion.

Unfortunately, uploading the kernel to the Adam using nvflash recovery has failed so far, and I am a bit scared in trying too hard and bricking it.  Perhaps I did something wrong, and should try again.

I had approached Notion Ink for resolution of some of the hardware issues I have pointed out earlier, and they did revert some days back with an RMA number.  I am supposed to send the tablet to their Bangalore office by courier, and I am told it would be repaired within 7-10 days.  I can’t wait that long.

I am conflicted about waiting for the update and sending the device for repairs. I think they will kindly update the device for me if I do send it, but I am hooked to it now.  So are my kids.  They just love Angry Birds, Ninjump, etc.

By the way, I am thinking of buying a Zotac Mini PC.  It seems Aditya Infotech distributes it in India.  I want the customisable version.

About ND

carbon-based life form, prefers science, rationality and freedom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

